Mandate of the County Assembly


A County Assembly consists of members elected by registered voters of their respective wards within the county and special seat members as well as members of marginalized groups (including persons with disabilities and the youth) all nominated by political parties in proportion to the seats received in a general election pursuant to Article 177 (1) of the Constitution. The Speaker is an ex officio member who presides over the plenary sittings.


The legislative authority of a county is vested in, and exercised by, it’s County Assembly pursuant to Article 185 (1), (2) of the Constitution and may make laws that are necessary for the effective performance of the functions and exercise of the powers of the county government under the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution.


A County Assembly, while respecting the principle of the separation of powers, may exercise oversight role over the County Executive Committee and any other county executive organ(s) pursuant to Article 185 (3) of the Constitution. The Assembly may receive and approve plans and policies for the management and exploitation of the county’s resources as well as for the development and management of its infrastructure and institutions pursuant to Section (4) of the same Article.