Assembly Buildings, Wote - Makueni

Overview & History of the Assembly

The County Assembly of Makueni is one of the forty seven (47) County Assemblies in Kenya established under Article 176 (1) of the Constitution of Kenya. As contemplated by Article 177 (1), the Assembly consists of members elected by registered voters of the Wards on the same day as a general election of Members of Parliament, each Ward constituting a single member constituency. The Assembly further consists of a number of special seat members necessary to ensure that no more than two-thirds of the membership of the Assembly is of the same gender and the number of members of marginalized groups, including persons with disabilities and the youth all nominated by political parties in proportion to the seats received in that election in that County by each political party. The Speaker is an ex officio member. Members of County Assembly are ordinarily sworn in by the County Assembly Clerk within fourteen days, after the announcement of the final results of a general election, in the manner set out in the Schedule to the County Governments Act No. 17 of 2012. Makueni County has a total of 30 civic elective Wards each represented by a Member of County Assembly (MCA) at the Assembly. The 30 Wards include Tulimani, Mbooni, Kiteta/Kisau, Kako/Waia, Mukaa, Kiima Kiu/Kalaanzoni, Ukia, Kee, Kilungu, Wote/Nziu, Kitise/Kithuki, Kathonzweni, Kilili/Kalamba, Mbitini, Makindu, Nguumo, Nguu/Masumba, Emali/Mulala, Mtito-Andei, Thange, Kalawa, Muvau/Kikumini, Mavindini, Kikumbulyu South, Kikumbulyu North, Masongaleni, Ivingoni/Nzambani, Ilima, Kithungo/Kitundu and Kasikeu. The Assembly has a total of 48 Members of the County Assembly including 18 Nominated Members A County Assembly is elected for a term of five years.